Austin

We drove into the Austin city limits Friday morning with a mixed sense of excitement and tension. For months now, Liz and I had poured over the schedule, searching and researching for the best bands, the most captivating talks, and the markedly interesting films. In the months leading up to SXSW (South By Southwest) new events were added nearly daily – making combing through a single day’s schedule take well over an hour. With so many events going on, spread across dozens of venues downtown, I knew I would have a constant fear of missing out on the best event at any one time.

SXSW

The fear of missing out probably peaked Friday morning, as we waited, first in the badge pickup line, and then in the Express pass line to get guaranteed seats for an upcoming film starring Sam Eliot and Nick Offerman. It was in this time I also planned on attending my first session – a talk on machine learning and how artificial intelligence would change the world. Luckily –  as I would learn over the next week – discussions on artificial intelligence were not in short supply.

Ron Swanson!

Both Liz and I were afforded the opportunity to attend SXSW thanks to the generosity of our employer, CoverMyMeds, who footed the bill for our registration. And, thanks to their contribution and the fact that the rest of our co-workers were carrying on with their daily tasks, we felt obligated to attend industry-relevant talks during work hours. However, as I quickly learned, not a whole lot can be gained from an hour long talk. If you’re able to give a several sentence descriptions on the matter beforehand – it’s likely you won’t be getting much out of the talk. Instead, I found, by attending sessions only very loosely related to my daily work routine I was able to expand my horizons and get surface exposure to new topics like legal discourse when growing a technology company.

Lots of free food if you knew where to look

SXSW had more to offer than countless talks on artificial intelligence and healthcare meetups though. Over 1200 bands flocked to the city in the course of the festival – meaning every bar on 6th street had a full lineup. In the months leading up to SXSW, both Liz and I listened to countless new bands – trying to figure out what shows to attend. Unfortunately, many of the acts we already knew like Langhorn Slim, Spoon, and Sylvan Esso seemed to play at midnight or later. However, we were able to find plenty of new favorites that played at reasonable times – my favorite being Temples. We did make it to one big name – Garth Brooks. While I wouldn’t classify myself as a boot scootin’ cowboy, Garth playing nothing but his hits for nearly two hours was undoubtedly my favorite part of SXSW. Who knew I had the words to so many of his songs memorized?

Front row for Lewis Del Mar

After the conclusion of SXSW, we still had nearly a week to check out the area beyond the few square miles the conference covered. While we spent some of the time recouping, we still kept busy. Sunday, for example, we took a tour of Lyndon B Johnson’s family ranch, hiked Pedernales State Park, and met up with my cousin, Michael, who treated us to mucho Mexican food at Chuys.

River crossing in Pedernales State Park

To anyone thinking about visiting Austin, I’d highly recommend it! Be sure to hit up Zilker, a picturesque park next to downtown that boasts hiking trails, running paths, and a unique swimming pool built into the nearby creek. After you’ve built up an appetite, fill up with the bar-b-que Austin is known for or Chilatro – a mouth water Korean bar-b-que option.

Barton Springs

My only regret is not being in town for Austin City Limits. I guess we’ll just have to make our way back to Austin again sometime (on our way back to Big Bend).

Leave a Reply

