Tucson

Although sad to leave Big Bend, we had a lot to look forward to in Tucson! Both my mom and Zach’s parents would be there for our first week in the city.  My mom was in town for a triathlon camp put on by Dimond (the company my brother works for) and the Serafini’s came out to Arizona to check out the desert (and see us).

The Cymanski-Serafini gang

We got a very nice house for all of us to stay in.  It had a large yard and a swimming pool which was a bit too cold to swim in.  We each did our own things during the day and then spent the evenings together.  Zach and I spent our days working.  Don and Lori spent their days sightseeing.  My mom spent her days swimming, biking and running.  I was lucky enough to take an extra-long lunch break and swim with her one day.  My mom will forever be my favorite swimming partner.

My first time swimming in 7+ months

Although Arizona is in the mountain time zone, it doesn’t observe daylight’s saving so we were three hours behind the east coast.  That meant waking up before 6 am and as anyone who knows me knows, I’m not a morning person.  The upside to getting an early start is that we were done working around 2 pm, leaving us plenty of daylight for exploring.

Hiking in Saguaro National Park after work

Our first week in Tucson went by way too quickly and before I knew it, my mom was heading back to Ohio.  Luckily I knew I would be seeing her in a month so goodbye wasn’t too bad.  Don and Lori stuck around for the weekend and we all went backpacking in Saguaro National Park.

A big (and old) saguaro!

It was nice to backpack with people.  As much as I like Zach, it was fun to have others to talk to and play Euchre with.  Excluding a minor mishap where the water filter wasn’t working (we luckily had brought enough water with us that we didn’t need to filter any) it was a very successful trip.  The saguaro’s really are magnificent.

It got chilly up on the mountain

We took advantage of the next week in Tucson to relax.  We had backpacked the past two weekends and were planning on backing the next weekend as well, so we needed some down time.  We still managed to explore Tucson – visiting the Sonora Desert Museum, driving up Mt. Lemmon and going on a few trail runs.  We got dinner with Vasanth, a CoverMyMeds co-worker who recently moved to Tucson, and his fiancé.

It was tough driving up Mt. Lemmon – I can’t believe my mom rode her bike up it!

Since before we started the trip, the background on my phone has been a picture very similar to the header photo for this post.   I was super excited for the Southwest and Tucson delivered.  It’s a beautiful city, surrounded by mountains and countless varieties of cacti.  We had a relaxing, nature-filled two weeks and were able to spend quality time with family.  What more could you ask for?

Leave a Reply

